Funeral directors, crematory managers, Embalmers, and mortuary licensees in the state of California are licensed by the California Cemetery and Funeral Bureau (CFB). The CFB defines a funeral director as someone who:
- Prepares for the transportation, burial, or disposal of human remains,
- Directs or supervises someone in this role, or
- Maintains an establishment to help in this business.
To be licensed by the CFB, you must be 18 years or older, possess an Associate’s degree in arts or science (or equivalent), and not have committed an act that would allow for denial of your license under section 480 of the Business and Professions Code. When a funeral director license is issued, there are several ongoing requirements that the licensee must follow to avoid license sanction. If you are facing a professional licensing issue, then it is important that you speak to an experienced professional licensing defense attorney.
Attorney Scott J. Harris is a former Deputy Attorney with the California Department of Justice. He is dedicated to protecting state-issued licenses during investigations and disciplinary actions. If you have a California funeral director license and were recently notified of a complaint against you to the CFB, then you must respond immediately to protect your license.
Funeral Director License Denial Attorney
A funeral director’s license can be denied for several reasons. Common reasons for a license being denied include criminal convictions, financial issues, or making misstatements on the license application. If you have been denied a funeral director license, then you have the opportunity to challenge that denial before the Office of Administrative Hearings in a Statement of Issues hearing. It is important that you understand the appropriate procedure and present your case in the most effective way to change the minds of the CFB to award you your license.
Cemetery and Funeral Bureau Accusations Defense Attorney
Most CFB accusations start as consumer complaints. If a licensee is met with a complaint, then the CFB can sanction or even take away the license as a punishment. If a funeral director receives notice that their license is in danger of being revoked by the CFB, then the license holder has 15 days to respond and file a notice of defense. A failure to appropriately respond within the allotted time can result in a default judgment against the license holder. A default judgment immediately strips the licensee of their funeral director license.
Crematory managers, Embalmers, and mortuary licensees can also lose their licenses due to a violation or accusation if the CFB finds them guilty. If you have received a complaint against your license, contact S J Harris law immediately to defend your license.
Funeral Director Investigation Hearings
Once a case is initiated, it will be investigated by an investigator who the CFB employs. At the end of the investigation, the investigator will make a recommendation for the board to determine if a formal complaint is warranted. If you are unable to reach a resolution in your case, then your case will be heard by the California Office of Administrative Hearings.
S J Harris — Funeral Director License Attorney
If you are facing a complaint against your funeral director’s license, then it is essential to consult with an experienced license defense attorney. At the SJ Harris Law Office, we offer free consultations to any professional facing a licensing complaint. Contact us today at 323-794-0701 to schedule your appointment.