Speech-Language Pathology License Defense Lawyer in California

The California Speech Pathology Board licenses Speech-language pathologists in California. The state authorizes a California speech-language pathologist to assist patients in assessing, diagnosing, and treating communication and swallowing disorders. To be licensed as a speech-language pathologist, you must hold a Master’s degree or equivalent in speech pathology and not be convicted of a crime against a speech-language pathologist’s morals and duties.

You must also complete 300 hours of supervised clinical work and have completed 36 full weeks or 72 half weeks of required professional experience while holding a temporary license in California. When a speech-language pathology license is issued, there are several ongoing requirements that the licensee must follow to avoid license sanction. If you are facing a professional licensing issue, then it is important that you speak to an experienced professional licensing defense attorney.

Attorney Scott J. Harris is a former Deputy Attorney with the California Department of Justice. He is dedicated to protecting state-issued licenses during investigations and disciplinary actions. If you have a California speech-language pathology license and were recently notified of a complaint against you to the Speech Pathology Board, then you must respond immediately to protect your license.

Denials of Speech Pathology Licenses

A speech pathology license can be denied for several reasons. Common reasons why a license would be denied include certain criminal convictions or making misstatements on the license application. If the Speech Pathology Board has denied you a speech pathology license, then you can challenge that denial before the Office of Administrative Hearings in a Statement of Issues hearing. It is important that you understand the appropriate procedure and present your case in the most effective way to change the minds of the Speech Pathology Board to be awarded your license.

Speech Pathologist License Accusations

If a speech-language pathologist is met with a complaint, then the Speech Language Pathology Board can sanction or even take away the speech pathologist’s license as a punishment. Common complaints filed against speech-language pathologists include:

  • Abusive act against a patient
  • Negligence
  • Improper advertising
  • Sexual misconduct
  • Aiding and abetting unlicensed activity

If a speech-language pathologist receives notice that their license is in danger of being revoked by the Speech Language Pathology Board, then the license holder has 15 days to respond and file a notice of defense. A failure to appropriately respond within the allotted time can result in a default judgment against the license holder. A default judgment immediately strips the licensee of their speech pathology license and prohibits them from engaging in speech pathology practice within California.

Speech-Language Pathology Licensee Hearings

If you are unable to reach a resolution in your case, then your case will be heard by the California Office of Administrative Hearings. Speech-language pathology licensing hearings are before administrative law judges in administrative court. About 30 days after the hearing, the administrative law judge will issue a written decision and findings in your case. You may petition for reconsideration or appeal depending on the facts and circumstances of your case.

S J Harris: Defense Attorney for Speech Pathologists

If you are facing a complaint against your speech-language pathology license, then it is essential to consult with an experienced license defense attorney. At the SJ Harris Law Office, we offer free consultations to any professional facing a licensing complaint. Contact us today at 323-794-0701 to schedule your appointment.